Economic Development

The mission of the St. Joseph County Office of Economic Development is to coordinate with public and private agencies to create a climate for growth to facilitate business and economic development throughout St. Joseph County. St. Joseph County is home to some of the most successful technology, finance, educational and health care related entities in the World. With a highly educated and trained workforce, St. Joseph County possesses the ability to provide a workforce for any business venture. St. Joseph County is the leader in terms or commercial, industrial, educational and cultural opportunities in the Northern Indiana region and offers everything that your company, and your workforce, could desire in order to conduct a successful business operation.

Please contact Bill Schalliol, Executive Director of the St. Joseph County Office of Economic Development to learn more about the unique opportunities offered in St. Joseph County.

Office of Economic Development
227 W. Jefferson Boulevard, Suite 1140
County-City Building
South Bend, Indiana 46601
Phone 574-235-9812

St. Joseph County Redevelopment Commission

The next scheduled meeting is November 15, 2016 at 9:00 am in the Commissioner's Conference Room on the 7th floor of the County-City Building.

St. Joseph County Economic Development Commission

The next scheduled meeting is November 1, 2016 in the Commissioner's Conference Room on the 7th floor of the County-City Building.

County Economic Development Areas

New Carlisle Economic Development Area

Capital Avenue Economic Development Area

Wyatt Economic Development Area

Northwest Cleveland Road Economic Development Area

SR 933 Economic Development Area

Local and Regional Economic Development Partners

St. Joseph County Chamber of Commerce
South Bend Region Economic Development
North Liberty Chamber of Commerce
Walkerton Area Chamber of Commerce

Michiana Area Council of Governments
Indiana Economic Development Corporation
Indiana Department of Workforce Development

WorkOne Northern Indiana

Area Plan Commission

Kosciusko County, Indiana
Marshall County, Indiana
Elkhart County, Indiana

Site Selection and Demographics Resources

Michiana Regional Geographic Information System
STATS Indiana

Local, Regional and State Government Resources

State of Indiana
Michiana Area Council of Governments
St. Joseph County Government

City of South Bend
City of Mishawaka

Town of Indian Village - 574-272-5593
Town of Lakeville - 574-784-8311
Town of New Carlisle - 574-654-3733
Town of North Liberty - 574-656-4447
Town of Osceola - 574-674-8114
Town of Roseland - 574-272-6485
Town of Walkerton - 574-586-3711

Educational Resources

South Bend Community Schools
John Glenn School Corporation
Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation
Union-North United School Corporation
School City of Mishawaka

University of Notre Dame
Indiana University South Bend
Purdue University - College of Technology at South Bend
Ivy Tech Community College – South Bend Campus
Goshen College

Indiana Department of Education

Quality of Life Resources

South Bend/Mishawaka Convention and Visitor’s Bureau
St. Joseph County Parks Department
City of South Bend Parks Department
City of Mishawaka Parks Department
MACOG Regional Bike Facility Maps
Indiana Department of Natural Resources


Copyright 2014