Sheriff Michael D. Grzegorek

Michael D. Grzegorek is the elected Sheriff of St. Joseph County, Indiana.  Sheriff Grzegorek was elected to serve as sheriff starting in January of 2011.  As the Sheriff, he is responsible for the entire operation of the St. Joseph County Police department, which includes over three hundred employees within ten different divisions of the organization.   The Sheriff is also responsible for the daily operation of the St. Joseph County Jail.  As well as being the sheriff, Michael Grzegorek serves on several community boards, including the CASIE (Child Abuse Services, Investigations and Education) Center Board of Directors and the St. Joseph County Metro Homicide Board of Directors.  He is also member of the Indiana Sheriff’s Association and the FBI National Academy Associates.

Michael Grzegorek became a St. Joseph County Police officer in 1988.  While an officer with the Department, he worked in multiple divisions including the jail, Narcotics, Road Patrol, and Homicide.  Ultimately, he rose to supervisory roles in all but the Jail Division.  He also worked narcotics while assigned to the St. Joseph County Metro Special Operations Section (MSOS).  During his more than five years in MSOS, he worked undercover for four-and-a-half years and was elevated to a supervisory position for an additional year.  Also, Michael Grzegorek was a member of the St. Joseph County S.W.A.T. Team for nineteen years, serving as the commander for six of those years.

Prior to becoming Sheriff, Michael Grzegorek was most recently assigned to be the Assistant Commander of the St. Joseph County Metro Homicide Unit for ten years.  The Metro Homicide Unit is a countywide specialty unit composed of police officers from all three major jurisdictions within St. Joseph County.

Sheriff Michael Grzegorek was nominated by the St. Joseph County Police Department and accepted to attend the National Academy Program of the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  He graduated from the 224th Session of the FBI National Academy in 2006.