Superior Court

What is the Superior Court

The Superior Court consists of eight judges, with four judges sharing responsibility for civil cases with the Circuit Court and the remaining four judges hearing criminal cases. The Governor appoints Judges upon recommendation of the St. Joseph County Judicial Nominating Committee. Superior Court Judges serve a first term of two years, followed by subsequent terms of six years, renewed by a retention vote at the general election.

Four magistrates, appointed by the Chief Judge, hear cases in the Traffic and Misdemeanor Division and Small Claims Division, both of which fall under the Superior Court's jurisdiction. These four magistrates share jurisdiction and alternate between the two courts.

Superior Court judges and magistrates conduct court proceedings in four courthouses, three in South Bend and one in Mishawaka

Courthouse 1 located in downtown South Bend is where you will find the Civil Division of Superior Court. This location is also where Traffic Court and Misdemeanor bench trials are conducted.
Courthouse 2 is the main location for the Misdemeanor and Small Claims Divisions of Superior Court. 
The Criminal Division of Superior Court is located in Courthouse 3. 
The County Services Building located in downtown Mishawaka and is where you will find the Plenary docket for Superior Court 5 and the Mishawaka Small Claims Division.