Area Plan Commission

APC Public Hearings (Rezonings & Combined Hearings)
  • 3:30 p.m.
  • Third Tuesday              of each month
  • County-City Building    4th Floor Council Cambers
Plat Committee Meetings (Subdivisions)
  • 8:30 a.m.
  • First and Third Thursday of each month
  • County-City Building    11th Floor Conference Room
ABZA Public Hearings (Variances & Special Uses)
  • 1:30 p.m.
  • Second Wednesday      of each month
  • County-City Building     4th Floor Council Chambers

Commission Responsibilities

The Commission's primary responsibilities are comprehensive planning and the administration of the zoning and subdivision process:
  • Comprehensive Planning

    Comprehensive planning takes on many forms, from community-wide plans to neighborhood plans. Active plans, which include the comprehensive plans of the member jurisdictions.
  • Zoning

    The Commission administers the rezoning process, from the initial contact with a developer or property owner, and through the public process. The Commission, after a public hearing, provides the respective Councils a recommendation on the zoning change. Information on the rezoning process can be found here.The Commission is also responsible for the maintenance of the official zoning maps.
  • Subdivisions

    The Commission has exclusive control over the subdivision of land within the member jurisdictions, and has delegated that authority to a Plat Committee. Information on the subdivision process.
  • Other Activities

    The Commission is also responsible for preparing text and map amendments to the zoning and subdivision ordinances. Amendments are carefully reviewed with the Councils and local agencies before being introduced. The Commission staff sits on a number of committees and provides assistance to its member jurisdictions on a wide variety of land use issues.

Areas Served

The Area Plan Commission was established in 1965 and serves as the plan commission for:
  • The City of South Bend
  • Unincorporated St. Joseph County
  • The Towns of Lakeville, New Carlisle, North Liberty, Osceola and Roseland
The Commission does not serve the City of Mishawaka or the Towns of Indian Village and Walkerton.

Press Release - November 30, 2017