Board of Commissioners

Who is my County Commissioner?

Andrew Kostielney

, President
District 1 
  • (View Map)

  • Townships:

    Clay, German, Harris
    Portions of Penn, Portage and Warren 

    St. Joseph River Basin Commission, Data Board, Board of Finance, Solid Waste and the Northern Indiana Transportation Commuter District

    Dr. Deborah Fleming, DMD

    , Vice-President
    District 3 
  • (View Map)

  • Townships:
    Portions of Penn and Portage
    Michiana Area Council of Governments as Treasurer, Board of Finance, Solid Waste and the Housing Consortium

    Dave Thomas

    , Member
    District 2 
  • (View Map)

  • Townships:

    Center, Greene, Liberty, Lincoln, Madison, Olive
    Portions of Penn, Portage, Union and Warren

    Drainage Board, Board of Finance, Solid Waste, and the Housing Consortium


    The three officials who comprise the St. Joseph County Board of Commissioners are elected from and represent separate districts for a term of four years. These districts must be redrawn once every ten years.

    The Board of County Commissioners serve as the executive and administrative authority for the county. It operates and maintains all county facilities and property; negotiate contracts; permits all purchasing and claim payments; receives bids for construction projects and maintenance of roads and bridges; makes appointments to certain board and authorities; oversees certain election functions; prepares the annual county budget and serves on the Board of County Finance.

    2018 Meeting Dates